The luckiest woman alive

There are only a few days left of my trip, and I am beginning to believe that I am the luckiest woman alive.

In the whole time I’ve been here I’ve only seen rain three times, and all three times were when I was travelling between places and weather didn’t matter.

Yesterday, I drove to see the Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers on the west coast.

First, I got the last backpacker bed in Franz Josef township. Then I headed to the glacier, which was shrouded in misty cloud. It takes about 40 minutes to walk to it from the car park, and the nearer I got, the more cloud lifted, so that by the time I reached it, you could see it in its entirity and the mountain peaks behind it.

Spurred on by the turn in the weather, I decided to drive the extra 21km to see the Fox Glacier, where the same thing happened.

I felt absolutely jubilant by my good fortune to see these two incredible natural sights in all their glory. Not many people who visit have that privilege. And yet, so much of my trip thus far has been favoured in this way.

Instead of driving straight back to the backpackers, I decided to linger a while near the Fox Glacier township and drove in the direction of Lake Matheson for dinner. Just as I was about to leave and head back, the clouds which had been covering the mountain ranges like grey beanies, lifted off completely, just as the sun was turning the sky pink, and revealed the tops of Mt Tasman and Mt Cook.

I don’t want to speak too soon, but I suspect I’m the luckiest woman alive.


2 responses to “The luckiest woman alive

  1. NZ is wonderful country, yes I love rain but I suspect your luckiest ever 😛 just kidding I wish you great luck in your trips , God bless and will wait your pictures

  2. Pingback: My true love gave to me… « Me and the Girl from Clapham·

Leave a Reply

