First forage

The fruit season is my favourite time of year. Low sunlight, amazing sunsets, and trees and shrubs loaded with fruit ready to be picked. I love it. I’ve done nothing to cultivate them, but they still produce. Last year I was a bit late, and pickings were sparse…

This year, I think the combination of a hard winter, a hot April, lots of rain at the end of spring and a good mix of weather through the summer means there were loads of flowers, and therefore, there’s now loads of fruit.

This afternoon I went wandering to see if I could forage for anything other than blackberries. Specifically, I’d heard a rumour that there are Mirabelles on Wandsworth Common…

I didn’t find Mirabelles, but I did come home with half a kilo of blackberries (it’s almost rude NOT to pick them when there’s so many), sloes for sloe gin, rosehips for rosehip syrup, a smattering of elderberries, and a red thing that I thought might be redcurrant but have since discovered is a not very nice, although edible berry called Guelder Rose.

I also filled a bag with apples from one tree that was basically groaning under the weight, and found three plum trees. I’ll need stepladders if I want to get any fruit from those.

All in one afternoon. The bookshop round the corner from me sold me an old copy of a Pelican guide to British herbs, so I’m fairly confident that once I’ve read it, I can find some nice salad-y rocket and watercress to go with my home grown tomatoes.

And in a book that MC gave me, I’ve read Hawthorn berries are good for circulation, particularly for people with Raynaud’s (which I have in winter). There’s LOADS of them out, so I’m going to fill a tub with them too.

It’s all free, but I think I’m going to be busy for a few nights!

I plan to head out again, maybe with ladders for the plums, and also to find out if there are wild raspberries on Tooting Common. That’s the word anyway.

One response to “First forage

  1. Pingback: When life gives you sloes, make gin and biscuits « Me and the Girl from Clapham·

Leave a Reply

