Zooey’s letter and my fringe

Last year, I got a fringe.

FF takes the rip out of me constantly for it. She says I’m always touching it, flicking it, smoothing it, pushing it out of my eyes.

I just push it back up off my face and ask her if she prefers me with a MASSIVE forehead.

I’d been thinking about getting a fringe for a long time before I did it, and then once I had my fringe, I discovered fringe envy.

Other people’s fringes seemed more voluminous, neater, more controlled, better shaped than mine. So I would  touch it, flick it, smooth it, push it out of my eyes until I felt like maybe other people would envy my fringe too.

Getting the fringe trimmed at the hairdressers became a little bit of a gauntlet to a fringe novice like me, since I didn’t know what I wanted them to do to make it look better. I had a couple of too-short fringe trims and a couple of too-straight trims until I learned to be more directive.

I was on a quest for the ultimate fringe. And when I watched 500 Days of Summer, I knew I’d found it. Zooey Deschanel, the object of my fringe envy. If only I could look like her – starting with the fringe.

Yesterday I came across this letter on Twitter.

Sent by Zooey Deschanel to Vogue Magazine when she (and I) was 17, she’s railing against the pressure girls/women feel to match up to an ideal of beauty.

I imagine she has the ideal fringe and that if I had her fringe, perhaps I had somehow have the rest of her good looks too. But I bet she gets as frustrated with her fringe as I do.  I wonder if she looks at someone else’s fringe, say Gemma Arterton, and feels a pang of envy?

The moral of this story being something we already know but maybe don’t believe – that no woman is perfect, that beauty is unique and found in the most surprising of places, and that it’s always in the eye of the beholder.

Three fabulous fringes!

Leave a Reply

