Isabel Losada, bikinis, being brave and the Dalai Lama

I said I’d write more about my lovely afternoon with Isabel Losada a couple of weeks ago.

She was absolutely fascinating and completely convinced she could make me confident to swim in the space of an afternoon. To the point of urging me to get down to Tooting Bec Lido this summer with the bikini-clad masses for a bit of mind of matter training in the outdoors.

After seeing all the skinny ladies in Hyde Park on Friday afternoon, and the swimmers at Brockwell Park Lido on Saturday morning (while I was stuffing my face full of blueberry pancakes with bacon and maple syrup with PJ) perhaps I should take her up on that. My mind has clearly lost all its control over my body, otherwise it wouldn’t sag in the places it does…

ANYWAY, this confidence that anything is possible meant she organised a stunt involving dropping a huge banner with the face of the Dalai Lama off the top of Nelson’s Column a few years ago, and her fearlessness comes across in the interview about her next book, where she sits completely still for ten days and takes hallucinogenic drugs in the Amazonian rainforest in the interests of research…

You can read the full thing here

Leave a Reply

