My missing mojo

 

It may not have passed you by, that I’ve been a little quieter than normal on this old blogio of late. As I said to CC last weekend, I feel like I’ve lost my mojo.

Mojo may refer to:

* Mojo (African American culture), a magical charm bag used in voodoo
* a slang word for self-confidence, self-esteem or sex appeal

‘No,’ she replied. ‘You’re just ready for a holiday.’
CC is kind and that is why she is my friend. Truth is, I’ve had a diary choc-full of parties and events, I’ve been to gigs in Notting Hill and eaten oysters and drunk champagne, but I’ve got nothing to say about them. Nada.

For example, last Friday night I was at a mulled wine thing at a friends and I had to leave at 10pm (10pm on a Friday night!) because I thought I was going to be sick. And actually I was sick, so I suppose that’s fair. Which meant that on Saturday, I didn’t go to visit Mission Control in Guildford, and I didn’t go to a party in Camberwell that night. Instead, I watched the final of X Factor. Having not watched any of the previous series.

The X Factor is a British television singing competition contested by aspiring singers drawn from public auditions, which started in September 2004.

Like I said. I think I’ve lost my mojo.

Every morning, I look out of my window at how dark it is outside, and think how it will only continue to get darker.

The winter solstice occurs exactly when the Earth’s axial tilt is farthest away from the sun at its maximum of 23° 26′. More evident to those in high latitudes, this occurs on the shortest day, and longest night, and the sun’s daily maximum position in the sky is the lowest.

Then I console myself that it’s darker in the north. And then I marvel that I used to get up and walk to school in the dark when I was a teenager, walking into the sunrise. Which wasn’t at all as romantic as it sounds. Not at all.

It’s got so bad, I daren’t make even accidental eye contact with the men on my bus. Just in case. And even if I did, I have a suspicion my bus-magic powers have left me, or are at least in hibernation.

Hibernation is a state of inactivity and metabolic depression in animals, characterised by lower body temperature, slower breathing, and lower metabolic rate.

If CC is actually right (and I hope she is) then I’m looking forward to the midwinter break, where I get to indulge in a ‘state of inactivity and metabolic depression’, ready for the new year, when the gradual reappearance of daylight will hopefully mark the return of my verve!

Leave a Reply

