UPDATE on The Fit Man on the Bus

You say goodbye and I say hello
Hello, hello
I don’t know why you say goodbye
I say hello
Hello, hello
I don’t know why you say goodbye
I say hello
Why, why, why, why, why, why
Do you say good bye
Goodbye, bye, bye, bye, bye

Lennon and McCartney

This morning I was running so late I caught the later than late bus. The fit man on the bus is normally on the late bus, so make-up-less I jogged round the corner with no hopes or expectations. Yet, there he was, with a seat free next to him.

I almost hesitated, but thought ‘What have I got to lose?’ and sat next to him.

‘Hi,’ he said.
‘Hi,’ I replied.

The conversation stalled. I rummaged in my bag for my book. He checked his diary. I put my book back in my bag and got my phone out to read the news. He got his book out. I sighed distractedly. He drummed his fingers on his bag. Half and hour of silence passed. We got nearer my stop. I put my stuff in my bag. He put his book away.

So many potential conversation starters ran through my head and then got vetoed:
‘What are you up to this weekend?’ (Too forward)
‘Did you watch the leaders’ debate last night?’ (Too political)
‘Do you work near here?’ (Too boring)

Clearly if you’re a strange black dude with a ridiculous name and a gold tooth, it’s not a problem for me to start a conversation with you on the bus. But if I’ve been looking at you and then tentatively smiling at you for weeks, conversation evades me.

I found myself wondering WWCCD – what would CC do? She told me last week that she’s made a friend on the DLR. They chat about their weekend plans and wave at each other through carriage windows.

Then I thought about Normal in London’s comment on my last FMOTB post, and wondered whether he might actually have been reading about himself anyway.

And do I want to start a conversation anyway? What if he turns out to be really boring or weird? Then I’ll have to avoid his bus. And the mystery will be lost.

The bus pulled up at my stop and passengers started standing to get off. I waited until they’d all passed, then stood up, turned to face him and flashed him a big smile.

‘See you later,’ he said.
‘Yes. See you later,’ I replied.

O my life, I think it’s love.

7 responses to “UPDATE on The Fit Man on the Bus

  1. Aww I can’t imagine actually starting a conversation with a normal person on public transport… it’s usually just the crazies that do that! Ah the number of times I’ve been asked out by one of those…

  2. You know you like someone when you can’t actually form a sentence…

    Next time, try ‘Hi, I’m J.
    How are you?’

    Um, this is where I stall. I’m not that good with relationships…

  3. Get drunk one morning 😉 Being drunk always helps me with my ‘introduction restraints’.

    Or have you ever noticed him reading Metro? You could put something in the text section!

  4. Pingback: Another FMOTB on the bus of dreams « Me and the Girl from Clapham·

  5. Pingback: Tokyo # 3: Travel 5,956 miles to get asked the same question « Me and the Girl from Clapham·

  6. Pingback: Number three at Breakfast Club « Me and the Girl from Clapham·

  7. Pingback: All change please, all change « Me and the Girl from Clapham·

Leave a Reply

