A citizen of the world

Since our celebration of (Old) Russian New Year last week, we’ve been on a bit of a roll.

I ate cheese to celebrate the US festival, National Cheese Lovers Day.
I’ve eaten haggis, neeps and tatties to mark Burns Night.

And today, I discovered to my joy, it’s Australia Day. Which I think means I either eat dingoes droppings, or drink beer. I’m hoping to opt for the latter.

Some people say the English should campaign for a national day of celebration on St George’s Day. While I’m not opposed to this (the more reasons to celebrate the better) I’d rather be a citizen of the world and celebrate with as many different types of people as possible, if only in spirit. That way, there’s potentially a reason to celebrate every day.

Leave a Reply

