68: Bridget Jones

‘Eventually the three of us worked out a strategy for Jude. She must stop beating herself over the head with Women Who Love Too Much and instead think more towards Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus, which will help her to see Richard’s behaviour less as a sign that she is co-dependent and loving too much and more in the light of him being like a Martian rubber band which needs to stretch away in order to come back.
“Yes, but does that mean I should call him or not?” said Jude.’

Bridget Jones’s Diary – Helen Fielding

It dawned on me today that this kind of conversation, which I laughed at hysterically when I was a student at its complete absurdity, is becoming a more and more commonplace occurence in my life. I gave B HJNTIY  to read while she was in Moldova and since her return, have been caught trying to choose between the opinions of HJNTIY and Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus for life analysis.

It’s obviously all ridiculous and something I should give up now before I become completely addicted to self-help literature and find myself turning into something of a caricature a la Bridget Jones…

Leave a Reply

