73: the Mitford sisters

I’ve been reading the collected letters of the Mitford sisters – a massive hardback volume, that gives me great delight to just open and rest on my knee. They have such a distinctive way of writing to each other, and I’ve read so much of the book the past few days, that I’m finding it a struggle not to write in their style. Even in text messages I have the urge to write phrases like ‘You’re such a terrific hon’ and to address my friends as Honks…

2 responses to “73: the Mitford sisters

  1. Being somewhat illiterate these days I can only speculate that these may be the offspring of a conjoining of the Stepford wives with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Leave a Reply

