87: interventionist God

I don’t believe in an interventionist God
But I know, darling, that you do
But if I did I would kneel down and ask Him
Not to intervene when it came to you
Not to touch a hair on your head
To leave you as you are
And if He felt He had to direct you
Then to direct you into my arms

Nick Cave

Every week a few of us get together to eat cheese and talk about Christianity. The past few weeks we’ve been talking about how and if and when God intervenes to set things straight, heal people’s bodies, fix families, provide food and welfare and generally bring about goodness in the world.

Ultimately, it seems, sometimes he intervenes and sometimes he doesn’t. Why he chooses to intervene when he does and not when he doesn’t I have no idea. My only real understanding is that God is God and he can do fairly much whatever he likes. It’ a good job he’s inherently good otherwise we’d be in big trouble. Big time.

Leave a Reply

