#5 Misery Business – Paramore

I’m  in the business of misery
Let’s take it from the top
She’s got a body like an hourglass
And it’s ticking like a clock

A couple of summers ago, I found myself living in my parents’ house with my little sister. The house was up for sale, my parents had moved out, everything was in boxes and she was home for the university summer holidays. She didn’t get out of bed until midday and then she’d sit in her nightie, in front of the computer, checking myspace, facebook, her e-mail and then searching for guitar tabs to play until three in the afternoon. I was finishing off my masters so was up and working on my final project for hours before she roused herself. It’s weird living with your family ten years after you last lived with them. My sister was eleven when I left home for university so I had no real idea of what it was like to live with her. I’d be in the garden and then all of a sudden I’d hear her wail ‘Woahhhhhh, I never meant to brag, but I got him where I wanted him now!’ at the top of her voice. She drove me crazy at first, but by the end of the summer I was sitting in my pyjamas in front of the computer screen singing with her. It’s nice to think that our old house was full of singing until the very last.

n581720256_1217733_86451n581720256_1217735_92863

Leave a Reply

