#3 Walk Like An Egyptian – The Bangles

All the school kids so sick of books
They like the punk and the metal band
When the buzzer rings (oh whey oh)
They’re walking like an Egyptian
All the kids in the marketplace say
Ay oh whey oh, ay oh whey oh
Walk like an Egyptian
Walk like an Egyptian

Although I said in an earlier post that I hid in my bedroom for my teens listening to The Cranberries, it wasn’t all an adolescent grunge-fest. My middle sister used to pop her head in for a chat every now and then and one day came in to find me dancing to the radio – Walk Like An Egyptian by The Bangles. She found the sight so hysterically funny that she sprayed a mouthful of tea all over my bedroom carpet. There must have been masses of tea in her mouth because a large section of the floor was fairly damp and both of us tried to dry it up while enjoying a hysterical, uncontrollable fit of giggles, of the kind that only teenage girls can have. I can’t even remember what was so funny about it now, only that we laughed and laughed and laughed and laughed and laughed. It’s one of my best childhood memories with her – good times!

Leave a Reply

