#2 First Day of My Life – Bright Eyes

In a nod to St Valentine, I’ll tell you a love story. 

All good stories begin with unspoken unhappiness, and heartbroken I had been for nearly twelve months, when, one bright January day, my flatmate decided to recruit me and some friends to help paint her bedroom. That was the day it all began. Me and C went out after painting all morning to walk along the promenade and take in deep gulps of breezy, salty sea air. I’d said we’d be gone for half an hour; we were out for three.

For the first time in ages I felt like the last of the sadness was gone, a walk that blew the final cobwebs away.

In my memory the months after that were filled with clear skied days, lung-fuls of clean air and a heady joy that made me feel life was pure oxygen. It was a technicolour time that has yet to be repeated.

C and I raced each other to work out the chords to this song and then we’d play and sing it to each other on lazy Sunday afternoons. We heard it separately but both recognised the words as our own. How cheesy to have ‘a song’. But this was it, the story of our romance as sung by Conor Oberst.

This is the first day of my life; I swear I was born right in the doorway. I went out in the rain suddenly everything changed – They’re spreading blankets on the beach. Yours is the first face that I saw; I think I was blind before I met you. Now I don’t know where I am, I don’t know where I’ve been, But I know where I want to go. And so I thought I’d let you know That these things take forever – I especially am slow – But I realize that I need you And I wondered if I could come home. Remember the time you drove all night Just to meet me in the morning? And I thought it was strange you said everything changed, You felt as if you’d just woke up.
And you said “this is the first day of my life. I’m glad I didn’t die before I met you. But now I don’t care I could go anywhere with you And I’d probably be happy”. So if you want to be with me, With these things there’s no telling, We just have to wait and see. But I’d rather be working for a paycheck Than waiting to win the lottery. Besides maybe this time is different, I mean I really think you like me

3 responses to “#2 First Day of My Life – Bright Eyes

  1. Pingback: Best of 2009 – the shortlist « Me and the Girl from Clapham·

Leave a Reply

