Newbury and a glorious Easter Weekend

I leave London in just over a week. It’s strange to think about because I’m just beginning to get the hang of this whole city malarky.
Maundy Thursday after work I went out with some of my colleagues (who as it turned out all were blokes – I didn’t let that bother me) for a drink in the sunshine. How nice to feel accepted – how annoying that all that hard work won’t mean much in 8 days time. Ho hum.
Later I left them and went off to a little venue in Balham called The Bedford to hear Foy Vance.
O my life.
He was Ay-May-Zing.
The venue was ace – a round mini-theatre with little tables and candles, free food and cocktails (always good – it was a fundraiser night. Not quite sure how giving stuff away helped raise money but hey!) and I was sitting less than a metre away from Foy.
Foy Vance sings out of the side of his mouth. I think he would break the equipment if he opened the whole of it, his voice had so much power. He kept the room in complete and utter silence – we were enthralled. I could go on, but you should just check him out when you can. www.foyvance.com
Good Friday is always memorable for me, since for the past few years it has either been a day of glorious love or utter heartbreak. And usually these take it in turns which would make this year a turn for love. Alas it was not so, but instead I found myself queueing to get into Primark on Oxford Street (I didn’t know it had only just opened! I just needed a couple of cheap tops!!) and later meeting Nicky in Bromley for a long needed catch up.
And then
Gloriously
On Saturday
I got on a train to Newbury
Breathed in deeply
Saw the sunshine of Heather
And all the smog and grit and pallour of London dropped off my face, roses flushed in my cheeks, a smile spread across my face, and I was welcomed and fed copiously on mussels and salmon and steak by Heather’s family.
I love Easter weekend – it’s so long it’s like a real holiday.
Happy Springtime!

Leave a Reply

